12 Artists Short-listed ofr 2009 Ateneo Art Awards

The Ateneo Art Gallery along with presenters Shangri-La Plaza, Unionbank, Metro Society, Style of the Philippine Star, and sponsors Smart Communications and the Lifestyle Network are pleased to announce the twelve artists short-listed for the 2009 Ateneo Art Awards. The artists were chosen for their outstanding exhibitions over the past year from among over a hundred nominations received during the initial judging held on 8 June 2009.

The short-listed artists are:

Martha Atienza for Man in Suit, 1 - 22 April 2009, Green Papaya Art Projects

Alan Balisi for Spacing Out, 8 - 29 September 2008, Blanc Compound

Ringo Bunoan for Archiving Roberto Chabet, 3 March - 4 April 2009, Vargas Museum

Joey Cobcobo for 8 Printmakers, 8 - 30 September 2008, Avellana Art Gallery

Kiri Dalena for Keeping the Faith, 13 November 2008 - 4 April 2009, Lopez Memorial Museum

Kidlat De Guia for Sleeping White Elephants, 7 - 30 June 2008, Galleria Duemila

Christina Dy for Soaplands, 25 July - 30 August 2008, CCP

Patricia Eustaquio for Death to the Major Viva Minor, 16 October -22 November 2008, SLab

Jan Leeroy New for Terratoma II (War of the Worlds) in Singapore Biennale 2008, 11 September - 16 November 2008, Singapore City Hall

Goldie Poblador for The Perfume Bar: Collected Memories and Ephemeral Representations in Thesis Exhibition, 24 March - 3 April 2009, Corredor Gallery, UP Diliiman

Pam Yan Santos for Like, 3 - 24 November 2008, Blanc Compound

Michelline Syjuco for Armadillon, 8 August - 8 October 2008, Mag:net Gallery

This year's crop truly embodies the theme of this year's Awards, The Next Wave, with its selection of diverse and contemporary art practices ranging from installation, painting, photography, printmaking, and sculpture signifying the innovative spirit of this prestigious contemporary art prize. With the exception of Christina Dy, all the short-listed artists are first-time nominees.

From among the twelve artists, three will be chosen as recipients of the Awards. The Jury will be meeting to determine the three winners on 29 June 2009. The results will be revealed during the Awards ceremony on 13 August 2009 at the Grand Atrium, Shangri-la Plaza Mall, Mandaluyong City in the midst of an exhibition of the short-listed artists' works that will be on show from 7 - 17 August 2009.

For more information, please contact Amanda Legasto, Project Coordinator for the 2009 Ateneo Art Awards at 4260088/09176283362 or email alegasto@ateneo. edu.
Post a Comment

Popular Posts